> Skip repeated content

Fellowship in Neuromuscular Medicine

There are two ACGME accredited fellowships in Neuromuscular Disease annually. Fellows receive extensive training in neuromuscular medicine centered in core competencies.

Fellows participate in multidisciplinary care programs in ALS and pediatric gait disorders. Extensive experience in electro-diagnosis is achieved under supervision of board certified neuromuscular clinicians. Fellows also participate in the practices of faculty specializing in neuromuscular diseases, in addition to their rotation at the Muscular Dystrophy Association/ALS clinic at Cornell and HSS. Through these experiences, fellows learn neuromuscular diagnostic and management skills. Fellows receive training in Neuro-rehabilitation, Neuropathology, critical care medicine, neuromuscular disorders associated with children, chemodenervation, and autonomic nervous system testing. 

There are also opportunities to participate in clinical and therapeutic trials in neuromuscular diseases. There is an extensive didactic program in place, which consists of programmed lectures, Neurology/Neuromuscular grand rounds, and EMG morning report, providing 4 to 6 hours of direct didactic instruction per week.

In addition to eligibility for Certification in Neuromuscular Medicine by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN), fellows successfully completing the neuromuscular disease fellowship are eligible for certification by the examination of the American Board of Electrodiagnostic Medicine (ABEM).

Interested candidates should successfully finish a residency program in Neurology accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) or Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons (Canada). If selected for fellowship training at HSS, fellows are required to obtain an appropriate clinical visa (if not a US citizen or green card holder) and a license to practice medicine in New York State. Fellows who are not eligible for a license because of their citizenship/experience status may work at HSS under a limited permit. 

Fellows who graduated from medical schools not accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education are required to obtain certification from the Education Commission on Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG). 

For candidates interested in applying for the fellowship position, please send letter of intent, curriculum vitae, and three letters of recommendation (from teachers in medicine or physicians under whom you have worked) to:

Dora K. Leung, MD
Fellowship in Neuromuscular Medicine Director
Department of Neurology
Hospital for Special Surgery
535 East 70th St
New York, N.Y. 10021
email: LeungD@hss.edu


Back to HSS Neurology