> Skip repeated content

Bella Elogoodin is our Wholeness of Life Honoree for 2023

Bella Elogoodin is our Wholeness of Life Honoree for 2023.

The Wholeness of Life award is presented annually by HSS and HealthCare Chaplaincy Network to an individual who is recognized for his or her years of providing compassionate care for patients and the dedication to promoting a balance of physical, mental and spiritual well-being.

On July 19, HSS President Lou Shapiro announced that Bella Elogoodin, our Vice President for Service Excellence is this year’s Wholeness of Life awardee.

Lou said that he considers this the most significant honor we confer on a colleague. He added that, at HSS, we pride ourselves on treating the whole person.  We understand that clinical and surgical skills are critical but we also understand the importance of treating body, mind and spirit.

Our awardee this year is a fearless leader of the Service Excellence, Language Services, and Volunteer and Intern Departments. Bella models the importance of promoting respect, communication, and team work leading by her own example. 

One of the nominators characterized Bella as a person who leads with her entire heart, compassionate, empathetic, and truly encompasses all you would wish for in a leader. Her respect for our patients and visitors and her understanding of their personal circumstances is always at the forefront of all her decision making. 
Bella has been part of the HSS community for over twenty years. Overall, Bella has an incredible spirit which she shares within her department and the entire HSS family.

Congratulations, Bella!

Past Wholeness of Life Honorees

2022 Seth Waldman, MD
2021 HSS Chaplains
2020 HSS Staff
2019 JeMe Cioppa-Mosca
2018 Shevaun Doyle, MD
2017 Ann Bienstock
2016 Elizabeth Coleman
2015 David Y. Wang, MD
2014 Don Foiles
2013 Glenn W. Garrison, CPO
2012 Jillian Rose, LMSW
2011 Mary Ellen Zullo, PA-C
2010 Sherry I. Backus, PT, DPT, MA
2009 Edward Craig, MD
2008 Barbara Wukovits, RN, BSNC
2007 Janet Cahill, PT, CSCS
2006 Janet J. James
2005 Oheneba Boachie-Adjei, MD
2003 Mary McDermott, RN

2002 Douglas Green, MD
2001 Stephen A. Paget, MD
2000 Eulalee Green, RN
1999 Mary Dolan, RN
1998 Ometa Bourne-Ford
1997 Valerie Gray, RN
1996 Theresa Galsworthy, RN, ONC
1995 Leon Root, MD
1994 Geraldine Nicholson, RN, ONC
1993 C. Ronald MacKenzie, MD
1992 Marguerite Palmieri, RN
1991 Roberta Horton, ASCW
1990 Lorraine Mattes, RN
1989 Anita von Hellens, RN
1988 Michael D. Lockshin, MD


Back to Spiritual Care