> Skip repeated content

Leadership Councils

HSS is proud to recognize our Councils – volunteer leadership groups dedicated to advancing the missions of important services at the Hospital.


Pediatric Council

The Pediatric Council is dedicated to furthering the mission and goals of the Lerner Children's Pavilion, the "hospital-within-a-hospital" that is renowned for delivering world-class pediatric care. HSS is recognized as one of the few institutions in the world with the skill, years of experience, and resources to care for some of the most complex disorders that affect children. The Council aims to increase awareness of the Hospital’s expertise in pediatric musculoskeletal medicine, and also raises critical financial support for patient care and cutting-edge research.

Monica A. Keany
Lara Lerner
Roger F. Widmann, MD
Kenna Brockriede
Kimberly Cantor
Sheree Chiou
Erica Christensen
Catherine Corry
Alexander and Erica Crisses
Laura Dartnall
Mary Ann Deignan
Katherine Doerge
Daniel W. Green, MD
Kenneth V. Handal
Lisa S. Ipp, MD
Neil and Sarita Jairath
Elisabeth Jones-Hennessy

Kim Klimczak
Mariko and Matthew LeBaron
Deirdre McGraw
Mary Kathryn Navab
Violeta Dela-Cruz Paluszek
Melanie C. Prior, MD
Paula Root
Jennifer Sauer
Corrente Schankler
David M. Scher, MD
Michael Shweky
Maura Watson, RN
Sara Weiner, PhD
McCartney Wilkins

Research Council

The Research Council is dedicated to advancing the research mission of HSS. The Council raises awareness and support for the world-class basic and translational research conducted by the Research Institute. With over 300 dedicated personnel, the Institute is identifying mechanisms underlying musculoskeletal and autoimmune conditions and developing effective approaches for prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of these diseases for the ultimate benefit of patients at HSS and around the globe.

Honorary Chairs
Richard L. Menschel
Torsten N. Wiesel, MD

Lionel B. Ivashkiv, MD
Alan S. MacDonald

Vice Chair
Giammaria Giuliani
Leonard Achan*
Todd J. Albert, MD*
Thomas W. Bauer, MD, PhD
Mary K. Crow, MD*
Florence Davis
Hossein Fateh
Marc Gabelli
Steven B. Haas, MD

Diane Halvorsen
Maria Ines Kavamura, MD, PhD
Thomas J. Kelly, MD, PhD*
Pamela Lipkin, MD
Robert G. Marx, MD
Christopher Mendias, PhD, ATC
Alessandra Pernis, MD
Louis A. Shapiro*


Rheumatology Council

The Rheumatology Council is dedicated to advancing the mission of the Hospital’s Division of Rheumatology, the largest program of its kind in the nation, that is widely recognized for its centers of excellence in Lupus and APS; Inflammatory Arthritis; Scleroderma, Vasculitis and Myositis; Pediatric Rheumatology; and Bone Health and Osteoporosis. The Council focuses on fundraising for and raising awareness of the work being conducted by the Division of Rheumatology, as well as educating the public about rheumatologic disease.

Mary K. Crow, MD
Lira Lee Cohen
Connie Anne Harris
Juliet Aizer, MD, MPH
Dorothy Bahna
Vivian P. Bykerk, MD
Stephan Feldgoise
Renee Flug
Cindy Golub
Catherine Green
Kilian Hennessy
Marla Lemonik
Laura Lovejoy

Magdalena Zavalia Miguens
Karen B. Onel, MD
Amy Pennington
Susan W. Rose
Jane E. Salmon, MD
Manon Slome
Robert F. Spiera, MD
Beth Ann and John Voulgaris
Patricia G. Warner

Wilson Society Advisory Council

The Wilson Society Advisory Council comprises a premier group of estate and financial planning specialists who advise HSS on matters related to their area of expertise. As ambassadors for the Hospital, Council members raise awareness of our mission and inspire private philanthropy that strengthens our commitment to providing the highest level of patient care today and for many years to come.

Nancy Shavel Gabel
Joanne E. Johnson
Jonathan G. Blattmachr
Gail E. Cohen
David Gerson
Lisa S. Goldman
Lynn C. Halpern
Linda B. Hirschson
Steve R. Katz
Paul S. Lee

Samuel S. Polk
Susan D. Porter
Sara Rabi
Paula A. Ryan
Marissa S. Tracey
Kevin A. Walsh
Gabe M. Wolosky
William D. Zabel