Research

Clinical Research Administration

Mission Statement

Clinical Research Administration is dedicated to supporting, fostering, and ensuring safe, compliant and scientifically valuable patient-oriented clinical research at HSS.

Services

Clinical Research Administration will provide services to facilitate all functions from clinical trial design conception through to a final contract and submission to the IRB, to study execution and closeout.

Clinical Research Administration (CRA) functions as a support team, providing clinical research investigators services including, but not limited to:

  • Project development
  • Contract negotiations for industry-funded studies
  • Budget development, as needed, and negotiations
  • Voucher creation for your individual studies
  • CRP and IRB Administrative review prior to submission of your clinical protocol
  • Internal monitoring for your research studies
  • Monthly education seminars for the research coordinator community

CRA is committed to providing exemplary service, oversight, support, and educational training in the conduct of human subjects’ research. As research evolves, CRA too continues to evolve in an effort to accommodate our clinical investigators, making the administrative and regulatory process as seamless as possible and encouraging further research at our institution.

Contact Information

Tzipora Kuba, PhD
Director, Clinical Research Administration
212-774-7154
kubat@hss.edu

Charles Castel
IRB Administrator
212-774-2939
castelc@hss.edu

Lucie Koppelman
IRB Administrator
212-774-2456
koppelmanl@hss.edu

Barbara Bosco, RN, BSN, CCRC
Manager, Clinical Review Panels
212-606-1914
boscob@hss.edu

Patricia Salazar
IRB Administrative Assistant
212-606-1238
salazarp@hss.edu

Our clinical research managers facilitate project development, contract negotiations and budget development for various studies based on services. Listed below are the managers and their appropriate service areas.

Eileen McCullagh, RN, ONC, CCRC
Manager, Clinical Research Administration
212-774-7381
mccullaghe@hss.edu
• Rheumatology
• Rehabilitation
• Arthroplasty
• Foot and Ankle
• Hip/Knee
• Surgical Arthritis
• Skeletal Dysplasias
• Limb Lengthening
• Metabolic Bone
• Physiatry
• Trauma
• Nursing
• Pediatric Orthopedics

Celeste Abjornson, PhD
Director, Spinal Research
212-774-2126
abjornsonc@hss.edu
• Pediatric Spine and Scoliosis
• Adult Spine

Sherrie Vassallo
Director, Sports Medicine and Shoulder Service Research
646-797-8466
vassallos@hss.edu
• Sports Medicine and Shoulder Service

Rich Fleury
Executive Director
Department of Radiology
212-606-1233
fleuryr@hss.edu
• Radiology

Quynh Tran
Clinical Research Coordinator, Department of Hand and Upper Extremity
212-774-2981
tranq@hss.edu
• Hand and Upper Extremity Service

Carey Ford
Clinical Research Manager, Department of Anesthesia
212-774-2602
fordc@hss.edu 
• Anesthesia

^ Back to Top
Request an Appointment