HSS Alumni

Leading Leaders

Please take a few moments to view our alumni and their current leadership roles as well as former positions they have held. HSS alumni continue to influence the fields of orthopaedics, rheumatology, and related disciplines.

Clinical Leadership Roles

Research Leadership Roles

Academic Leadership Role

Clinical Leadership Roles

Sports Team Physicians

  • Kyle Anderson, MD (Fellow 1999)
    Team Physician, Detroit Lions NFL (Present)
    Team Physician, Detroit Red Wings NHL (Former 1996-2006)
    Team Physician, Detroit Tigers MLB (Former 1996-2006)

  • Mark K. Bowen, MD (Resident 1990, Fellow 1991)
    Team Physician, Chicago Bears NFL (Present)

  • Stephen Brockmeier, MD (Fellow 2007)
    Team Physician, Charlotte Bobcats NBA (Former 2007-2010)
    Team Physician, University of Virginia Athletics (Present)
    Team Physician, James Madison University (Present)

  • G. Hadley Callaway, MD (Resident 1993, Fellow 1994)
    Team Physician, Carolina Hurricanes NFL (Former 1997-2003)
    Team Physician, USA Men's Hockey Team (Present)

Medical Directors

  • Stanley E. Asnis, MD (Fellow 1972, Resident 1975)
    Chief of Spine Surgery, North Shore Plainview (2008-Present)

  • Bernard R. Bach Jr., MD (Fellow 1986)
    Director, Sports Medicine, RPSLM and Rush Medical Center (Present)

  • Michael S. Bednar, MD (Resident 1996)
    Chief, Section of Hand Surgery, Loyola University Health System (Present)
    Chief, Section of Hand Surgery, Edward Hines, Jr. VA Hospital (Present)

  • Kevin F. Bonner, MD (Resident 1998)
    Former Chief of the Sports Medicine Service, Portsmouth Naval Hospital (Former)
    Co-Director, Jordan Research Foundation (Present)

Research Leadership Roles

Specialty Society Leadership

  • Paolo Agliett, MD (Fellow 1972, Fellow 1974)
    Former President, International Society of Arthroscopy,
       Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports (ISAKOS) (2007-2009)
    Former President, Halton Secondary School Athletic Association
       (HSSAA) (2001-2002)

  • Adele Boskey, PhD
    Former President, Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS)

  • Mathias P. Bostrom, MD (Resident 1995, Fellow 1996)
    Future President, Orthopaedic Research Society
    President, International Society for Fracture Repair (ISFR)

  • Mark K. Bowen, MD (Resident 1990, Fellow 1991)
    Diplomat, American Board of Orthopaedic Surgeons (ABOS)
    Diplomat, American Board of Examiners

Grant Recipients

  • Baron Lonner, MD (Fellow 1995)
    Grant, AOSpine Research Commission, Hansjorg Wyss Foundation Start-up
       Research Grant Award (2008-2010)

  • George A. Murrell, MD, PhD (Fellow 1995)
    Grant, National Institutes of Health First Independent
       Investigator (FIRST) Award (1993-1998)

  • Russell F. Warren, MD (Fellow 1973)
    Grant, National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases,
       Principal Investigator (2007-2011)

Academic Leadership Role

Program Directors

  • Kyle Anderson, MD (Fellow 1999)
    Fellowship Sports Medicine and Shoulder Director, William Beaumont Hospital

  • Helen Bateman, MD (Fellow 1999)
    Fellowship Program Director, University of South, Florida

  • Jonathan C. Beathe, MD (Fellow 2008)
    Director, Anesthesiology Training Programs, Hospital for Special Surgery

  • James Bono, MD (Fellow 1994)
    Director of Education, New England Baptist Hospital, Boston

Journal Reviewers

  • Stephen Brockmeier, MD (Fellow 2007)
    Journal Reviewer, American Journal of Sports Medicine
    Journal Reviewer, Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery

  • G. Hadley Callaway, MD (Resident 1993, Fellow 1994)
    Journal Reviewer, Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Surgery (2009-Present)

  • Robert F. Closkey, MD (Fellow 2001)
    Journal Reviewer, Clinical Orthopedics and Related Research (2003-Present)
    Journal Reviewer, Journal of Orthopedic Research (2003-Present)

  • J. Albert Diaz, MD (Resident 1997)
    Consultant Reviewer, American Journal of Sports Medicine (Present)

Grant Reviewers

  • Jay R. Lieberman, MD (Fellow 1991)
    Ad Hoc Reviewer, NIH, MFT

  • Thana Turajane, MD (Fellow 1995, Fellow 1998)
    Grant Reviewer, Arthritis Foundation, Thailand

  • Russell F. Warren, MD (Resident 1973)
    Grant Reviewer, NIH

Pay Your Alumni Dues

Tell us about your
leadership roles now!

Complete our Leadership Survey

Contact Us

Contact your Alumni Association at tel: 212.606.1823 or alumni@hss.edu.