> Skip repeated content

Spiritual Care

2007 Wholeness of Life Honoree - Janet Cahill, PT, CSCS

An emotional Janet Cahill, PT, CSCS, accepted the 2007 Wholeness of Life Award for her outstanding contributions as section manager of the Inpatient Rehabilitation Department in front of her colleagues, friends, and family, who gathered in her honor in the Richard Menschel Education Center on September 17, 2007.

"It is an honor to be the recipient of the Wholeness of Life Award, and I would like to thank the HealthCare Chaplaincy for recognizing me," she said during her acceptance address. "You do not get the opportunity every day to thank your colleagues, mentors, family, and friends who have helped guide you, encourage you, and mold you throughout the years. I truly believe the foundation of HSS is made up of all of you who commit yourselves to making it a dynamic environment.

"I have had so many rewarding and challenging opportunities that have enabled me to learn and grow as a therapist, educator, and mentor, but - most importantly - as an individual," Ms. Cahill said. "I am privileged to work with so many inspiring patients, families, colleagues, and co-workers in the HSS community who strive to do their best and go that extra mile every day," she continued.

Mrs. Cahill received this honor in recognition of the quality of care she gives HSS patients by understanding and responding to their spiritual needs. The prestigious award is presented annually by the HealthCare Chaplaincy, a citywide, multi-faith community of professionals from many cultures dedicated to caring for persons in spirit, mind, and body.

"Janet does her job and makes it better for everyone," said Leon Root, MD, the 1995 Wholeness of Life Award recipient, who shared his personal congratulatory remarks. "All who work with you, especially the doctors, are grateful to you -- you smile and touch people, and that makes them better. You earned this award without trying, and that makes you a very special person."

Wholeness of Life Honorees

2016  Elizabeth Coleman
2015  David Wang
2014  Don Foiles
2013  Glenn W. Garrison, CPO
2012  Jillian Rose, LMSW
2011  Mary Ellen Zullo, PA-C
2010  Sherry I. Backus, PT, DPT, MA
2009  Edward Craig, MD
2008  Barbara Wukovits, RN, BSNC
2007  Janet Cahill, PT, CSCS
2006  Janet J. James
2005  Linda A. Russell, MD
2004  Oheneba Boachie-Adjei, MD
2003  Mary McDermott, RN
2002  Douglas Green, MD
2001  Stephen A. Paget, MD
2000  Eulalee Green, RN
1999  Mary Dolan, RN
1998  Ometa Bourne-Ford
1997  Valerie Gray, RN
1996  Theresa Galsworthy, RN, ONC
1995  Leon Root, MD
1994  Geraldine Nicholson, RN, ONC
1993  C. Ronald MacKenzie, MD
1992  Marguerite Palmieri, RN
1991  Roberta Horton, ASCW
1990  Lorraine Mattes, RN
1989  Anita von Hellens, RN
1988  Michael D. Lockshin, MD
Image - Janet Cahill, PT, CSCS